Chubby Vogue Diva #17

©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (55 of 113)

I am originally from the Eastern Cape but have been in KwaZulu Natal for most of working life! I have always been chubby, but I come from an era where it was okay to be overweight! It was a sign that you were from a wealthy family, therefore, I was rarely teased about my weight! Most are still describing me as “esasidudla sihle” which I find it to be a compliment.

For me knowledge coupled with education, self sufficiency or independence are critical as a result, I have a junior degree, with majors in Sociology and English, an honours degree in Sociology with a special focus on Gender and Sociology of Medicine, a Master of Business Leadership (MBL) with Corporate Governance as a special focus. I have various short courses ranging from Supply Chain Management to Project Management. I am in the process of writing my exam to qualify as a Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE) and also in the process of qualifying to be an Ethics Officer. I will be defending my proposal towards my studies to become a Doctor of Business Leadership (DBL) very soon.

I have worked in the private sector; in various companies and the SABC, as an Account Executive, doing sales and marketing, The following posts for me, have broadened my scope and fulfilled my passion as community or social developer; Land Affairs (Land Claims Commission) as a Head of Finance and Administration and as a project manager, Productivity SA as a Regional Manager, Local Government as a Municipal Manager and lastly, at National Development Agency as a Provincial Manager.

I believe that women in most cases are vision bearers, and because of their ability to multi-task they are able to implement the vision and see it to its fruition. Thus my feeling is, that women should always be at the fore-front of development, especially because they have an ability to lift as they rise. You have to be big enough, to lift people as you rise! The woman depicted in Proverbs 31 of the Bible comes to mind, for it speaks of an industrious woman, who ensures that neither her family nor her community will go to bed hungry.

Whilst I am chubby, I am fit as a fiddle; I play golf, tennis and every now and again I go fishing. It is when I am fishing, that I get time to spend long hours with my God, so it’s not about really catching fish, it is about the quiet time, I have with my creator, whilst enjoying nature. I am a fan of the Formula 1 Grand Prix, Rugby (my team being the Sharks), Soccer (my teams being Kaizer Chiefs and Manchester United), I love ballroom and Latin American dancing. With my weight, I have done bunjee jumping from the highest bridge in the world, the Bloukraans! The only time, I wish I was smaller, is when I am watching ice skating.

I love reading; Biographies, Non-fictional material, Leadership and business books, Christian books, Political books take up a large chunk of my shelve space.

I am a Jazz fanatic, though my first love was Classical Music and also belong to the EJazz Appreciation Society in Durban. I guess it’s a natural progression from Clasical music to jazz! I love travelling, seeing new people and places inspire me, I have travelled both in Africa and overseas.

I saw this photo-shoot as an opportunity to make a difference and inspire other ‘chubbilious divas’ out there, also of note is that confidence in yourself and in your abilities is everything! Confidence and independence are very attractive and to tell you the truth I have never seen a nasty and mean spirited chubby person!   …..Yolisa Ndima…..

©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (71 of 113)  ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (77 of 113)

©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (24 of 113)  ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (25 of 113)  ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (30 of 113) ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (32 of 113)  ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (36 of 113)  ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (41 of 113)    ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (48 of 113)  ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (60 of 113) ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (50 of 113)

©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (69 of 113)  ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (76 of 113) ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (70 of 113)

©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (93 of 113) ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (86 of 113)  ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (58 of 113)   ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (100 of 113) ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (104 of 113) ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (96 of 113)

Images taken: at Durban Central

Clothing: by Model

3 thoughts on “Chubby Vogue Diva #17

  1. That’s my friend!!! Exciting, well accomplished and kind hearted. Even more exciting is that you will be Dr Ndima soon!! Proud, proud, proud!! But you left out coking. You always have these amazing meals you show pics of. Someday I hope to be a faithful patron in your restaurant …lol

    • Hahaha, thanks my friend! Cooking yes, I forgot to mention that! Let’s chat about the Restaurant, and maybe you should be my partner!

Leave a Reply

