Chubby Vogue Diva #26

©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (19 of 78)I am Nomalungelo Mkhize , 24 years of age from Umlazi south of Durban.the eldest daughter of Sbusiso and Zanele Mkhize. I am a  big, beautiful,bold,intelligent and confident lady. I oose with confidence and charisma.  I was never born thin. I am a thick boned girl. I am a proud size 40.

I was never thin. I have worked really hard to be where  I am today. The confidence I have now was hard earned. I always had low self esteem about myself, I was bullied at school because of my weight and I came to a point where I started starving myself trying to fit in and be popular in school like all the girls. I tried and tried until it came to moms attention that im trying to loose weight. I than went to see a psychologist to help me about with believing and loving myself. From that day onwards I never looked back at my setbacks I looked forward till this date. Today I am all that I am because of that bullying I got from the kids at school,funny enough today those kids actually look up to me some want to be like me which is  so not possible.( I’m to promoting bullying)

I am an opportunist and I love everything that has to do with being a proud plus size women, I love inspiring others and letting them know that being fat is not a curse or life sentence . First seeing the chubby vogue divas page on Facebook I was blown away seeing those beautiful confident women strutting beautiful poses and I say to myself this is my platform. I inboxed them and they responded positively and the shoot was set and oooooooooh OMG! I enjoyed the shoot so much. Being a diva that I am I chose to take the pics at the Durban Botanical Gardens,  I just love nature and the whole experience was epic. Charmain is a good photographer I like the fact that she communicates with you while taking pics of you, I felt so relaxed and I just stayed and had fun.

Here is a list of the things that I do that helps me  sustain and maintain being a plus size confident diva:

I am Miss Curvy PRC Unit Founder and Ambassador.  I am a plus size model and I also have a couple of initiatives which I do namely iSdudla indaba, Embrace your curves and confidence has no competition campaigns.  In these campaigns I work with my partners. My partners are Fikile Shana Mkhabela and Zinhle Maphumulo and Gugu Ngcobo. There are a couple of projects we are working on with these ladies. To top this all up ,the ladies I’ve just mentioned above are all plus sized confident goal driven ladies.

I am a proud beautiful Ambassador.  I lead by example. I was blessed with a very supportive family and friends.  With them and God by my side everything is possible.

The advice I would like to give my fellow plus size divas is that. You are beautiful,be yourself ,love yourself and believe in yourself. Everything starts with you. Do not ever use your weight as an excuse instead turn it in to an advantage and use it to the best of your capability. Remember you are not your body size and your dress size does not define you.

This is my journey.

Miss Curvy PRC Unit Ambassador and founder

©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (11 of 78) ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (56 of 78) ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (22 of 78)  ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (31 of 78)  ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (24 of 78) ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (44 of 78)

©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (41 of 78) ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (16 of 78) ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (37 of 78)

©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (25 of 78) ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (58 of 78) ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (14 of 78)

    ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (55 of 78)  ©Charmain Carrol Photography 076 1810009 (35 of 78)

     Images taken at the  Botanical Gardens in Durban

clothing: model dressed by her designer  “Sonairt Designs” by Ntando Mthethwa.

3 thoughts on “Chubby Vogue Diva #26

Leave a Reply

